Nitrous, Super Chargers, & Turbos All charged talk about going FAST.

Turbo Flange Information

Search this Thread

Old 08-04-2009, 02:30 AM
Default Turbo Flange Information

I found some extremely helpful information and it took me a pretty long to find a straight answer. Some things I have read people say are flat out wrong, and with all the various turbo flanges, it can get pretty confusing.

To save you the confusion I am putting this information on the forum and I have re-hosted all of the pictures just in case the original website ever goes down, which for some reason always seems to happen to the most accurate and helpful web pages on the internet.

I'm still learning about the subject of the various flanges too, so I am missing quite a bit of information. I am not posting information that is incorrect though.

Feel free to contribute more information. Just make sure that it is accurate first.

Some Flanges Sound the Same, but Aren't...

I want to start out by pointing out that some turbo flanges have almost the same name but are actually different. There are the standard sizes, and then there are the odd-shaped flanges that came on some car manufacturers' OEM turbocharges.

Examples of these are the DSM (Diamond Star Motors... Mitsubishi/Eagle/Dodge-Chrysler) T25 flange and then the Standard T25 flange, which some people loosely refer to both as a T25, which can cause confusion. It's important to know when buying your turbo parts that a DSM T25 flanged turbocharger will not fit on a Standard T25 flanged manifold (without an adapter flange... we'll get into that later). Same goes for the Early-Chrysler T3 and the Standard T3.

Some of the Most Common Inlet Flanges

Standard T3 (TK030)
Fits all T3 and T3/T04 (a.k.a. T3/T4) type turbos. Fits most early Ford, Saab, and Z31 300ZX turbochargers. Will fit early Volvo turbos but the turbo will need to be machined down.