Suspension, Brakes, Tires & Wheels Talk about your suspension, tires, wheels and brakes within.

Need help with shocks

Old 09-05-2008, 08:53 AM
HCF Member
Red face Need help with shocks

hey guys wats up.im new at this so dont mind me.

the shocks on the back of my car is pretty bad, and i want to change everything b4 it becomes worst. everything meaning all four sides.
i also want to lower my car. can any one help me with this.
i have done some research but im not sure what it is that i have to change, i see coil overs, springs, shocks, shock absorbers etc.. and i dont know what it is that i have to purchase. can any one help?

Old 09-05-2008, 05:50 PM

alright here we go:
shocks, struts, and shock aborbers are three different phrases for the same thing: shocks
you will need a set of shocks. KYBs and Tokico shocks are pretty good relatively inexpensive performance shocks. I recommend KYB AGXs or Tokico Illuminas because they are adjustable in stiffness (really easy to adjust too), so you can adjust your ride comfort.
and now on to the next step...
You will need to choose between springs and coilovers. They each have their advantages and disadvantages.
Coilovers are adjustable in ride height, but are stiff and don't have very good ride comfort.
Springs are not adjustable in ride height (although there are all different springs you can buy that have different ride heights, but once you buy them you are stuck at the particular ride height of those springs.) Also, springs are more comfortable than coilovers.
Springs are wayyyyyyyyyy less expensive than coilovers.

Personally, I recommend getting KYB AGX shocks and H&R Sport Springs (1.6" rear, 1.8" front drop)
I have this setup and I love it.

My KYBs were $330 total on eBay, and my H&R Sport Springs were $180 total on ebay.
So that's $510 for that setup. Pretty good deal if you ask me.

Old 09-06-2008, 08:07 AM
HCF Member

okay well im gonna check that out on ebay. i always buy from there, so far no problems.