tire pressure monitoring devices - HondaCivicForum.com

Go Back  HondaCivicForum.com > Civic Style > Suspension, Brakes, Tires & Wheels
Reload this Page >

tire pressure monitoring devices

Suspension, Brakes, Tires & Wheels Talk about your suspension, tires, wheels and brakes within.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

tire pressure monitoring devices

Reply

 
 
 
  #1  
Old 09-19-2008, 11:28 AM
Junior Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: north iowa
Posts: 7
Default tire pressure monitoring devices

because our 08 cr-v has a factory tire pressure monitoring system, i wanted to have one for my civic. after searching, i found ones at tirerack.com and purchased the ones from orange electronics.
the local tire shop broke the wheels and installed the valve stem/sender units and i found a good place on the dash for the gauge. it shows the pressure of each wheel and the temperature (at the push of a button).
all in all it was a good investment-i can see the pressure of each tire with a quick glance. they are very accurate, too.
 
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-19-2008, 12:16 PM
HCF Member
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location:
Posts: 906
Default

I'm kinda spoiled with the factory setup in my 01 Corvette. The digital readout that is built into the dash, directly in front of the steering wheel can display each tire's air pressure, as well as battery voltage, coolant temp, oil temp, oil pressure, miles to empty, instantaneous mpg, trip miles (A and B), and all engine, steering, and brake codes. I keep the oil temperature displayed as a default.

But yes, everyone should have a tire pressure, as well as an ambient temperature readout.
 
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-20-2008, 12:49 AM
trustdestruction's Avatar
Moderator
Join Date: May 2007
Location: FL
Posts: 11,417
Default

i don't really like those monitors... they're kind of annoying.
like in my girlfriend's nissan sentra, the light came on saying the tires were low... so her dad checked them and they were fine. so now there's this annoying light stuck on.

she says it doesn't bug her... i don't see how. warning lights on the dash bug the hell out of me if they come on.
 
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-21-2008, 04:59 PM
HCF Member
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location:
Posts: 906
Default

My warning message doesn't come on unless the pressure gets down to 24 psi. If your girlfriend's monitor is falsely reading pressure, have the monitor kit replaced if the tire pressure gauge you are using is really accurate (check with another gauge, first). There's no need to drive around with a false warning light displayed.
 
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-21-2008, 06:30 PM
civicexracer's Avatar
Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 5,802
Default

Originally Posted by trustdestruction View Post
i don't really like those monitors... they're kind of annoying.
like in my girlfriend's nissan sentra, the light came on saying the tires were low... so her dad checked them and they were fine. so now there's this annoying light stuck on.

she says it doesn't bug her... i don't see how. warning lights on the dash bug the hell out of me if they come on.
if the pressures were low at some point, the light will come on and on some cars the light will need to be reset. see if theres a reset button on or under the dash or in the glove box. if it still dosnt go out, its most likely a faulty sensor in one of the wheels.
 
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 09-21-2008, 07:03 PM
HCF Member
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: St. louis, MO
Posts: 1,303
Default

On some cars, such as nissans and some fords, they need to be reset using a special computer tool. The tools basically reprograms the sensors and you have to do all four at one time.
 
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 09-21-2008, 08:03 PM
trustdestruction's Avatar
Moderator
Join Date: May 2007
Location: FL
Posts: 11,417
Default

i'll look for a reset button tomorrow when i ride with her to school
 
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 10-03-2017, 05:23 PM
Junior Member
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 1
Default

how do I reset the TPMS light on my 09 CVivui. had a new sensor put in rt. front wheel'
 
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 10-03-2017, 05:42 PM
trustdestruction's Avatar
Moderator
Join Date: May 2007
Location: FL
Posts: 11,417
Default

Originally Posted by pepsi bob View Post
how do I reset the TPMS light on my 09 CVivui. had a new sensor put in rt. front wheel'
Fill the tire with air and drive above like 25 mph. If its on because its not detecting that wheels sensor you may need to take it back in.
 
Reply With Quote
 
 
 
Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
lunger
Mechanical Problems & Technical Chat
1
07-10-2011 03:50 PM
RRB
Mechanical Problems & Technical Chat
5
05-12-2008 09:40 AM
9524tee
Suspension, Brakes, Tires & Wheels
6
03-21-2008 05:54 AM
TrbCivic
Mechanical Problems & Technical Chat
1
07-20-2007 01:02 PM
phan10m
Mechanical Problems & Technical Chat
3
07-07-2007 05:27 PM


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: tire pressure monitoring devices


Advertising
Featured Sponsors

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.