tire pressure monitoring devices - HondaCivicForum.com


Reply
 
 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
  #1  
Old 09-19-2008, 11:28 AM
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: north iowa
Posts: 7
Default tire pressure monitoring devices

because our 08 cr-v has a factory tire pressure monitoring system, i wanted to have one for my civic. after searching, i found ones at tirerack.com and purchased the ones from orange electronics.
the local tire shop broke the wheels and installed the valve stem/sender units and i found a good place on the dash for the gauge. it shows the pressure of each wheel and the temperature (at the push of a button).
all in all it was a good investment-i can see the pressure of each tire with a quick glance. they are very accurate, too.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-19-2008, 12:16 PM
HCF Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location:
Posts: 906
Default

I'm kinda spoiled with the factory setup in my 01 Corvette. The digital readout that is built into the dash, directly in front of the steering wheel can display each tire's air pressure, as well as battery voltage, coolant temp, oil temp, oil pressure, miles to empty, instantaneous mpg, trip miles (A and B), and all engine, steering, and brake codes. I keep the oil temperature displayed as a default.

But yes, everyone should have a tire pressure, as well as an ambient temperature readout.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-20-2008, 12:49 AM
trustdestruction's Avatar
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: FL
Posts: 11,417
Default

i don't really like those monitors... they're kind of annoying.
like in my girlfriend's nissan sentra, the light came on saying the tires were low... so her dad checked them and they were fine. so now there's this annoying light stuck on.

she says it doesn't bug her... i don't see how. warning lights on the dash bug the hell out of me if they come on.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-21-2008, 04:59 PM
HCF Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location:
Posts: 906
Default

My warning message doesn't come on unless the pressure gets down to 24 psi. If your girlfriend's monitor is falsely reading pressure, have the monitor kit replaced if the tire pressure gauge you are using is really accurate (check with another gauge, first). There's no need to drive around with a false warning light displayed.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-21-2008, 06:30 PM
civicexracer's Avatar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 5,802
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by trustdestruction View Post
i don't really like those monitors... they're kind of annoying.
like in my girlfriend's nissan sentra, the light came on saying the tires were low... so her dad checked them and they were fine. so now there's this annoying light stuck on.

she says it doesn't bug her... i don't see how. warning lights on the dash bug the hell out of me if they come on.
if the pressures were low at some point, the light will come on and on some cars the light will need to be reset. see if theres a reset button on or under the dash or in the glove box. if it still dosnt go out, its most likely a faulty sensor in one of the wheels.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 09-21-2008, 07:03 PM
HCF Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: St. louis, MO
Posts: 1,303
Default

On some cars, such as nissans and some fords, they need to be reset using a special computer tool. The tools basically reprograms the sensors and you have to do all four at one time.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 09-21-2008, 08:03 PM
trustdestruction's Avatar
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: FL
Posts: 11,417
Default

i'll look for a reset button tomorrow when i ride with her to school
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 10-03-2017, 05:23 PM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 1
Default

how do I reset the TPMS light on my 09 CVivui. had a new sensor put in rt. front wheel'
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 10-03-2017, 05:42 PM
trustdestruction's Avatar
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: FL
Posts: 11,417
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by pepsi bob View Post
how do I reset the TPMS light on my 09 CVivui. had a new sensor put in rt. front wheel'
Fill the tire with air and drive above like 25 mph. If its on because its not detecting that wheels sensor you may need to take it back in.
Reply With Quote
 
 
Reply

Related Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
high suction pressure with low discharge pressure lunger Mechanical Problems & Technical Chat 1 07-10-2011 03:50 PM
Tire Pressure Monitoring System question... RRB Mechanical Problems & Technical Chat 5 05-12-2008 09:40 AM
Tire pressure monitoring system? WTF 9524tee Suspension, Brakes, Tires & Wheels 6 03-21-2008 05:54 AM
Turbo Engine Monitoring Display TrbCivic Mechanical Problems & Technical Chat 1 07-20-2007 01:02 PM
P0108 Manifold Absolute Pressure/Barometric Pressure Circuit High Input phan10m Mechanical Problems & Technical Chat 3 07-07-2007 05:27 PM


Tags
2000, 2010, brake, chevrolet, civic, corvette, devices, false, honda, monitirung, monitor, pressure, readout, reset, tire

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Advertising
Featured Sponsors

All times are GMT -8. The time now is 04:47 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.