Audio/Visual & Electronics Wired up? Everyone's got some sort of electrical modification... let's hear about it here.

Ohms

Search this Thread

Old 12-29-2006, 11:08 PM
HCF Member
Default Ohms

well im not sure if this is a retarded question or not....but i dont get this audio sh!!!!t lol i got my new infinity reference 1250's installed to a profile 1000 watt 2 channel amplifier, i had circuit city people (kids) install it yesterday. The subs sound great and i love them...but the kid said he wired them up at 4 ohms which is 160 watts x 2...on the box it says i have the ability to set tham at 2 ohms which is 240 watts x 2. I asked the kid y he didnt set them up this way and he said because he didnt think the amp could handle it....now im no expert but if the manufacturer tells you what it can handle, id much rather trust that then some random 19 year old kidd from CC. My question is how can i set it up at 2 ohms??? is it a simple plug a wire out of 1 port and into another or is it some complicated thing that i cant do???? input would be apppreciated thanx

Old 12-29-2006, 11:25 PM
HCF Member
Default RE: Ohms

Well, 4 ohm mono is the same as 2 ohm stereo, but it really all depends on the ohm load of your subs. Are they 4 ohm or 8 ohm?

Old 12-29-2006, 11:42 PM

One or two subs?

Old 12-30-2006, 03:46 PM
HCF Member

there are 2 of these subwoofers
http://www.crutchfield.com/S-EJtxBeb...amp;I=1081250W

and here is the amp
http://www.crutchfield.com/S-EJtxBeb...mp;I=489AP1000

im still convinced it can handle it no problem....is it just a plug in thing or how does the ohms work???

Old 12-30-2006, 04:49 PM
Recognized HCF Member

if you have those your only two wiring options are 2ohms or 8ohms...
ohm loads can easily bite you in the @ss.... and most people dont even think or know or even understand them...