ECU Tuning & Fuel Management Discuss electronics and related components within.

i think, trouble shooting codes is what im looking for???

Search this Thread

Old 03-26-2009, 12:25 PM
HCF Member
Unhappy i think, trouble shooting codes is what im looking for???

hi, i have a 93 honda civic EX 4dr. and it ran fine and all the sudden died! and now it wont start! i remember reading somewhere that you can hook something up and get, what i think are trouble codes, which tell you whats wrong, by how many blinks it makes? so i was just wondering if someone could tell me how to do this on my 93 civic? thanks!!!

Old 03-26-2009, 04:25 PM
HCF Member

that only works if your check engine light is on. check to see that it is. and if it is check out ronj's signature for a link to cel codes and how to's.

thats the best advice i can give you since im new to hondas!

Old 03-26-2009, 04:42 PM
Recognized HCF Member

Does the engine crank when the key is turned to ON(III)?

As mentioned above, turn the key to ON(II) to check whether the CEL remains ON or turns OFF after two seconds. If it stays ON, pull the CEL codes from the ECU as detailed at the link in my signature.

When you turn the key to ON(II), can you hear the low humming noise of the fuel pump for 2 seconds in the rear.

Next check for spark. See link in my signature.

Old 03-26-2009, 05:16 PM
HCF Member