Engine & Internal Chat about beefing up your engine's insides here.

Add an RPM tachometer

  #1  
Old 05-17-2005, 11:21 AM
Junior Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 2
Default Add an RPM tachometer

Hi,

I have a 99 Honda Civic SE (that's the case model in Canada). It has a D series engine, 16v sohc, non-vtec. The car didn't come with an RPM tach. I would like to add one, since my other car has a tach, and I'm used to driving with one. Can anyone recommend a basic model, and perhaps a mod shop in Toronto, Ontario, Canada?

Thanks.
 
  #2  
Old 05-17-2005, 11:59 AM
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location:
Posts: 4,414
Default RE: Add an RPM tachometer

Could always get a gauge holder that goes on your pillar and get a small tach for that.
 
  #3  
Old 05-17-2005, 12:07 PM
Junior Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 2
Default RE: Add an RPM tachometer

Yeah that's what I was thinking as well. Are you able to recommend any tach manufacturers? As well, I searched the forums for any threads dealing with installing a tach, but couldn't find one. Do most tachs come with installation/wiring instructions?

Thanks.
 
  #4  
Old 05-17-2005, 05:06 PM
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Houston Texas
Posts: 139
Default RE: Add an RPM tachometer

or you can get a cluster for the 96-00 with a tach and put it in. no cutting no wiring just plug and play
 
  #5  
Old 05-17-2005, 06:06 PM
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location:
Posts: 4,414
Default RE: Add an RPM tachometer

I can't recommend any, but most come with instructions. I haven't bought any gauges in years.....Stewart used to be a hot seller, don't know if they're still out there.
 
  #6  
Old 05-17-2005, 06:47 PM
Mad7s's Avatar
HCF Member
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: San Diego
Posts: 1,607
Default RE: Add an RPM tachometer

Equus (What I got and love), or Autometer. Both can easily be found on Ebay and Autometer is at Autozone if you have those in Canada.
 
  #7  
Old 05-17-2005, 08:19 PM
HCF Member
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location:
Posts: 1,518
Default RE: Add an RPM tachometer

go on ebay and get your self a 5" Sunpro, in black or white face. Stick it on the dash, you'll love it.
 
  #8  
Old 05-18-2005, 05:38 PM
HCF Member
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Pittsburgh
Posts: 1,738
Default RE: Add an RPM tachometer

go buy a tac. or ebay and a buy an a-piller cluster..


soon:
Holley 68mm TB
Skunk2 Manifold
MSD Blaster 2 Coil, MSD Super Cap
Venom 400
AEM cam gear

(in reply to Mad7s)
please tell me your not wasting money on the piece venom 400
 
  #9  
Old 05-18-2005, 09:22 PM
HCF Member
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location:
Posts: 1,518
Default RE: Add an RPM tachometer

I got venom on ebay for half the price, if it does anything then good, if it don't then I'll sell it.
 
Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
RunninMan
Mechanical Problems & Technical Chat
2
02-11-2011 06:08 AM
JayVee
Engine & Internal
12
08-30-2009 11:50 PM
Super Mario
Mechanical Problems & Technical Chat
3
10-29-2004 01:13 PM
ShÖgun
Mechanical Problems & Technical Chat
0
08-29-2004 04:36 PM
civicguy1xxxxx
Mechanical Problems & Technical Chat
4
05-25-2004 09:29 PM


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: Add an RPM tachometer


Advertising
Featured Sponsors

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.