Engine & Internal Chat about beefing up your engine's insides here.

D15 to D16 questions

  #1  
Old 01-16-2009, 06:39 PM
Junior Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 22
Default D15 to D16 questions

What civic comes with a D16? And is it possible to put a d16 head on a D15 block?
 
  #2  
Old 01-16-2009, 06:53 PM
ef9101's Avatar
HCF Member
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Fontana, CA
Posts: 202
Default

d16 came with the si model 91 hatch or si vtecs for 92-95 civics all 96-00 dx to ex should be equipd with the d16 block as well
but yea d16 head fits a d15 fine
what car are u trying to put the head on ne ways
 

Last edited by ef9101; 01-16-2009 at 07:10 PM.
  #3  
Old 01-16-2009, 06:56 PM
Junior Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 22
Default

trying to put it on my 99ex. I want to do an N/A...
 
  #4  
Old 01-16-2009, 07:01 PM
ef9101's Avatar
HCF Member
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Fontana, CA
Posts: 202
Default

a 99 ex has a d16 block so your good to go
 

Last edited by ef9101; 01-16-2009 at 07:11 PM.
  #5  
Old 01-16-2009, 07:33 PM
Junior Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 22
Default

a 99ex has a d16 block but a d15 head? thats weird.
 
  #6  
Old 01-16-2009, 07:49 PM
ef9101's Avatar
HCF Member
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Fontana, CA
Posts: 202
Default

heres how u no what kinda block it is in the front of the block look to the right side of it down by the cooling fan look to see where the transmission connects to the block you will see a long barcode plate connectd to the trans but right next to it theres a square box ingraving the code for the block it should say d16 n somthn after it ..if u dont see it its probably coverd with greas but yea i hav a 99 ex coupe n its a d16 block
 
  #7  
Old 01-16-2009, 07:59 PM
Junior Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 22
Default

Thanks! How much trouble would it be to do a N/A for my civic? I already know its expensive. I want performance and a car that lasts.
 
  #8  
Old 01-16-2009, 09:09 PM
trustdestruction's Avatar
Moderator
Join Date: May 2007
Location: FL
Posts: 11,417
Default

n/a on a d-series engine is worthless

your 99 EX should have a 1.6L block and head already
there should be no reason to swap a different D16 head onto your D16Y8.
 
  #9  
Old 01-17-2009, 06:34 AM
Junior Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 22
Default

somone told me that they thought if i put a D16 top that had VTEC, it'd be part vtech because the vtech is on the top...are they just retarded? but im trying to make my car faster but im running out of options...
 
  #10  
Old 01-17-2009, 08:34 AM
texasmade's Avatar
HCF Member
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Arlington Texas
Posts: 271
Default

ur 99 should have a d16y8 and that has vtec
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: D15 to D16 questions


Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.