Engine & Internal Chat about beefing up your engine's insides here.

engine differences

Search this Thread

Old 03-20-2010, 12:32 PM
Default engine differences

i have a 92 civic stick with a 16 non vtech in it. are my parts swappable with a vtech? and would a vtech drop easily into where a non vtech once was?
ANY INPUT/KNOWLEDGE WOULD BE VERY HELPFUL!!
ive tried to look it up online and didnt understand it. im a very hands on person more than just reading about it.

ive been hunting for 2 yrs now for my same civic with same engine and no luck. everything is vtech. i have alot of new parts on my non vtech, are parts interchangable?

i dont know much. and my poor honda truely isnt worth fixing.
the engine overheats. new radiator distributor cap plugs starter alternator. couldnt find a reason why it overheated. was told the gaskets are gone, mixing coolent and oil. no one wants to work on it for less that 1500$ and car isnt really worth it. but if i can get another civic with a vtech and be able to swap all these brand new parts over i will. i LOVE my civic and dont want to own anything else

Old 03-20-2010, 01:02 PM
Chubby Chaser

#1. its vtec not vtech,
#2. vtech makes cordless house phones
#3. yes a vtec engine, any ""D"" series example d15b7,d16z6,d16y8,d16y7 and so on will fit right into your civic, a d16z6 would be a nice engine to put into your civic and its a vtec engine, also get the ecu, there is a sticker on the side of the ecu and the second set of digits should say p28, then you just swap engine in and plug new ecu up, then for vtec to work you need to run 2 wires from the ecu to the vtec solnoid and vtec oil sensor. i have a diagram to show you how to. get the engine then let us know what engine your putting in.

Old 03-21-2010, 02:02 AM