Engine & Internal Chat about beefing up your engine's insides here.

JDM D15B Non Vtec to VTEC

  #1  
Old 04-28-2007, 03:32 PM
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 12
Default JDM D15B Non Vtec to VTEC

ok guys i have came to the decision to make my D15B a vtec , switch the DPFI to a MPFI. I need direct orders of how to switch to a vtec. Stuff i need , where and where to get it. All i know is to get it from a D16Z6. Does the D16Z6 already have everything i need right there?






Name:  026.jpg
Views: 1058
Size:  108.8 KB

Getting better Headers, and the green colors sucks i know so.. that will be painted over
 
  #2  
Old 04-28-2007, 03:37 PM
Mr Mobsta Man's Avatar
HCF Member
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: West Virginia
Posts: 3,086
Default RE: JDM D15B Non Vtec to VTEC

Your engine has been from hell and back, oil all over the block and green paint in random places. What happened to it?

Mini-Me DIY: https://www.hondacivicforum.com/m_45390/tm.htm
 
  #3  
Old 04-28-2007, 03:50 PM
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 12
Default RE: JDM D15B Non Vtec to VTEC

Dude i have no clue. The guy i bought it from said his old engine blew. So he put this one in. His son for some reason panited it green. As far as the oil.. dont know. The engine runs fine. I was going down the road the other day and it just cut off out of no where. Checked everthing , everything was fine and no leaks. 5 min later it starts back up. Sometimes i will cut it off and then try and cut it back on .. it will not start. Let it sit a sec or 2 and it fires up. People are telling me my engine is not suppose to have DPFI but carbs. IDK.
 
  #4  
Old 04-28-2007, 03:53 PM
Mr Mobsta Man's Avatar
HCF Member
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: West Virginia
Posts: 3,086
Default RE: JDM D15B Non Vtec to VTEC

Get some engine degreaser and clean the block off. lol
 
  #5  
Old 04-28-2007, 03:57 PM
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 12
Default RE: JDM D15B Non Vtec to VTEC

o yeah i will lol. thanks for the link. But will the USDM d15b7 be like the JDM d15b as far as switch
 
  #6  
Old 04-28-2007, 04:04 PM
Senior Member
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location:
Posts: 917
Default RE: JDM D15B Non Vtec to VTEC

it might just be cheaper and easier to get a JDM d15b swap. That motor looks like it has a lot of miles and I'm not sure if it'd be safe on the bottom end
 
  #7  
Old 04-28-2007, 04:25 PM
Senior Member
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location:
Posts: 1,930
Default RE: JDM D15B Non Vtec to VTEC

Compression/leak test it if you unsure of the bottom end. A pieced together mini-me and DIY rebuild will be cheaper than aswap from most any importer.
 
  #8  
Old 04-28-2007, 05:54 PM
HCF Member
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Victoria, B.C. Canada
Posts: 1,162
Default RE: JDM D15B Non Vtec to VTEC

Ya, if the bottom end is ok, clean it and toss a d16z6 head on there and youll have vtec and good power.
 
  #9  
Old 04-28-2007, 09:26 PM
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 12
Default RE: JDM D15B Non Vtec to VTEC

what do you mean by bottom end?
 
Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
new2honda
Mechanical Problems & Technical Chat
1
08-21-2014 05:49 PM
Booger
EK Swaps
2
08-09-2011 10:11 PM
edmaxx
Mechanical Problems & Technical Chat
3
07-04-2010 06:27 AM
giwatcher
Mechanical Problems & Technical Chat
2
02-14-2009 09:14 AM
4doorcivic9
General Civic Talk
14
05-16-2007 06:56 PM


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: JDM D15B Non Vtec to VTEC


Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.