Engine & Internal Chat about beefing up your engine's insides here.

pulley?

  #1  
Old 05-07-2005, 12:13 PM
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 10
Default pulley?

ok, i just bought an underdrive pulley for my 92 and i went to instal it and i ran into some trouble. I put the pulley on the crank and torqued it down. i bought the belt it said to buy and i went to put it on. But the place for the belt on the pulley(the one closest to the engine) doesnt have the same diameter as the pulley for the alternator. But the 2nd spot for the pulley(the one closest to the wheel) has the same diamater as the alternator pulley. I know the pulley is on right. So my question is: Do i need a different pulley for the alternato since i bought an underdrive for the crank, or did they send me the wrong pulley?Or can i by a differnt belt with the same diameter of the crank pulley? If i do that will it fit on the alt. pulley??
sorry for the long post, thanks for any help
 
  #2  
Old 05-07-2005, 02:21 PM
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 10
Default RE: pulley?

  #3  
Old 05-07-2005, 10:45 PM
Senior Member
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location:
Posts: 735
Default RE: pulley?

i heard some bad stories with underdrive pullies and hondas so be careful.
 
  #4  
Old 05-08-2005, 01:51 AM
HCF Member
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Jersey
Posts: 7,168
Default RE: pulley?


im pretty sure the stock pullies are very heavy for a reason.......im pretty sure that anyone running any type of aftermarket audio system would wanna stay away from lightweight pullies......
 
  #5  
Old 05-08-2005, 08:22 AM
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 10
Default RE: pulley?

well i only spent 50 bucks on it so are you saying i should just forget about it and leave the old one on?
 
  #6  
Old 05-08-2005, 11:25 AM
HCF Member
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Jersey
Posts: 7,168
Default RE: pulley?

its ur decesion.........but if u plan on runnin any aftermarket audio equip......like an amp and subs i wouldnt use it.
 
  #7  
Old 05-08-2005, 01:58 PM
Senior Member
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location:
Posts: 3,095
Default RE: pulley?

Leave the old one on until you hit around 500 whp. Then it'll actually make a difference. The reason the stock one is so heavy is to balance the engine out top to bottom.
 
Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
Karrde
Mechanical Problems & Technical Chat
12
01-24-2009 05:09 AM
wimreems
Mechanical Problems & Technical Chat
2
03-19-2005 10:09 PM
riceburner700
Engine & Internal
13
02-12-2005 01:28 PM
02CivicEX
General Civic Talk
8
02-01-2005 06:34 PM
NYC Civic
Engine & Internal
5
06-18-2004 04:45 PM


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: pulley?


Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.