Engine & Internal Chat about beefing up your engine's insides here.

Upgrade Pulleys??????

Search this Thread

Old 04-22-2005, 09:01 AM
Default Upgrade Pulleys??????

Came across the AEM Tru-Power Pulley kit.

AEM Description: AEM Tru-Power pulleys increase horsepower by decreasing the parasitic effects that factory accessory pulleys have on a vehicle’s engine. The pulley’s lightweight 6061 T-6 billet aluminum construction reduces rotating weight and increases efficiency.

Would doing this upgrade be worth the 175 bucks, or is it just a description to sell products? I'm new to the engine upgrade game so any help will be great.

Old 04-22-2005, 03:03 PM
HCF Member
Default RE: Upgrade Pulleys??????

its a worthy upgrade power wise, but if you are running alot of powered options like a stereo or alot of neon etc... then I'd steer away from it.

Old 04-22-2005, 07:11 PM

the only electronics I'm running in the car right now is a DVD player in the headrests so when I have the kids they stay quite, but those times are far a few between. The rest of the electronics is stock, but I am changing out the headunit so I can have my SIRIUS and XM radio back. How does changing the pulleys help with power to the engine? I guess I'm missing something here. Thanks for the help

Old 04-23-2005, 03:06 PM

Well, it'll theoretically help the engine rev faster, but it (I assume you're talking about a crank pulley) should be one of the last upgrades you consider. Unless you're engine is already built top to bottom, and you've already got a lightened flywheel, you won't really notice a difference.

Old 04-23-2005, 10:34 PM

Kappa22, sorry; I didn't note the pulleys that came in the kit. This is the rest of the description from AEM...