Engine & Internal Chat about beefing up your engine's insides here.

vtec not working??

  #1  
Old 08-09-2006, 03:54 PM
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location:
Posts: 6
Default vtec not working??

i just got my car 2000 siR (si) and my vtec does not go off at all... im new to hondas and cars in general what could be the problem(s)? thanks
 
  #2  
Old 08-09-2006, 04:44 PM
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location:
Posts: 210
Default RE: vtec not working??

How do you know your VTEC is not working?
 
  #3  
Old 08-09-2006, 05:29 PM
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location:
Posts: 73
Default RE: vtec not working??

put oil in ur car. when ur honda gets low on oil the v-tec will not engage. trust me. my sohc did the same. i thought it was a vtec senaoild and it wasn't. by the tim ei found out it was too late. the with the heat these days u are bound ot be below 2 quarts and if ur blew 2 quarts it will not work.
 
  #4  
Old 08-09-2006, 06:08 PM
HCF Member
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: San Diego
Posts: 1,491
Default RE: vtec not working??

U'd probably get better feedback, if u posted this in the engine forum. There r some very knowledgable people that help out there.
 
  #5  
Old 08-09-2006, 06:37 PM
ScoobyAddict14's Avatar
formerly aryiman98civic
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 3,772
Default RE: vtec not working??

did you put your rpms up high enough so vtec will kick in? i think its 5800 rpms, if not that then it could be the selanoid.
 
  #6  
Old 08-09-2006, 08:03 PM
HCF Member
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Idaho Falls
Posts: 2,934
Default RE: vtec not working??

Hey Daisoman how did you get that name? I used to do business translation with a huge 100 yen (dollar store) chain over in Japan called DAISO. Daiso is probably one of the funniest places in Japan because they literally have everything you could think of for only 100 yen! Let me know!
 
  #7  
Old 08-09-2006, 08:18 PM
HCF Member
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 1,193
Default RE: vtec not working??

Are you saying this because you can't hear it? Or you know it's actually not working?
 
  #8  
Old 08-10-2006, 12:02 AM
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location:
Posts: 6
Default RE: vtec not working??

ok ive had the car since January and changed the oil twice.... i didnt really even know what vtec was until i drove my friends Sir then felt and heard it... he drove mine and said my vtec doesnt work... i have redlined it but still nothing. would it be the ECU because thats what i was told it could be the problem? and do u guys think this is going to be expensive? thanks!
 
  #9  
Old 08-10-2006, 07:18 AM
HCF Member
Join Date: May 2005
Location:
Posts: 192
Default RE: vtec not working??

If you redlined it, it should mean its working? What ECU are you using?
 
  #10  
Old 08-10-2006, 07:46 AM
HCF Member
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: NC
Posts: 1,801
Default RE: vtec not working??

what engine........are you sure it even still has a vtec engine? also is the check engine light on and if so have you checked the codes? theres a few things that will not allow vtec to engage.
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: vtec not working??


Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.