Engine & Internal Chat about beefing up your engine's insides here.

zc head on a d15?

  #1  
Old 02-21-2005, 05:33 PM
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location:
Posts: 703
Default zc head on a d15?

hey i was talking to a customer where i chill at and he said he was looking for a zc head (dohc) for his d15b motor. and i was like y? and he was said that he can put the head on his block motor. i was like you can? with a dohc zc on a 1.5 d15b block????? someone gots to tell me whats up is it possible???
 
  #2  
Old 02-21-2005, 05:42 PM
Senior Member
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location:
Posts: 3,095
Default RE: zc head on a d15?

Indeed it is. A DOHC ZC is essentially the same as a D16A8. But it's generally easier (and sometimes cheaper) to just buy a full ZC swap...
 
  #3  
Old 02-21-2005, 06:48 PM
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location:
Posts: 241
Default RE: zc head on a d15?

whats the point of having a zc its only got 130hp but its a dohc, are they faster than a d15b jdm motor same horse power??
 
  #4  
Old 02-21-2005, 07:01 PM
Senior Member
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location:
Posts: 3,095
Default RE: zc head on a d15?

Yeah. The combination of DOHC and larger displacement make it better.
 
  #5  
Old 02-21-2005, 10:16 PM
HCF Member
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location:
Posts: 232
Default RE: zc head on a d15?

how will it effect compression? And is it truelly efficient(in a sense, as with most enthusiast the cost at the pump is not an issue) Where can I find some info on this type of swap? Cuz currently I am building a z6 head to turbo and ZC heads have been floating around here recently.
 
  #6  
Old 02-23-2005, 08:31 PM
HCF Member
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: East Palatka FL
Posts: 298
Default RE: zc head on a d15?

its not as simple as it sounds. i wish i have tried it before telling you, but i talked to someone quite a bit on this topic a couple years ago. it is possible, but not worth it at all. if you want dohc for cheap then get a full zc swap. it is entirely possible, just not worth it
 
  #7  
Old 03-20-2005, 08:31 AM
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location:
Posts: 123
Default RE: zc head on a d15?

id say just do a complete swap instead of popping heads off. its alot easier then goin into the heart of your motor and screwing with the head. unless you know what your doing then go ahead and do it
 
Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
birdmane
Mechanical Problems & Technical Chat
4
02-07-2007 07:42 PM
bad4yourdaughter
ED-EF Swaps
3
07-31-2006 03:15 PM
joey
Mechanical Problems & Technical Chat
1
06-10-2006 04:08 PM
Colnago22
ED-EF Swaps
4
02-15-2006 06:11 PM
leco516
Engine & Internal
15
02-01-2006 03:10 PM


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: zc head on a d15?


Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.