General Civic Talk Talk about the Honda Civic generally here.

im new to sport compact

Search this Thread

Old 09-17-2006, 02:07 PM
rag
Default im new to sport compact

hi, i hail from the world of offroad 4x4's but ive been considering buying myself a sport compact for some time

to make a long story short i have little avaliable funds (so i cant afford wasted money), my current daily driver vehicle i a lifted gas guzzling torquey 89 jeep xj, and my daily commute involves highway miles (my xj is road-unfriendly). so i am looking for a daily driver to go to work and college so i can leave the pride and joy intact for the weekends of mudding and if i manage to break the jeep i still have a backup vehicle

i want something small so it wont hog driveway space, easy on the gas for the commute and most of all the ability to add decent performance

now to the main topic:

what type of motor, trans, year, model, etc do i look for when shopping for a civic?

what are good links or build sheets for civic engines?

what should be the first things i should be upgrading once i purchase a civic?

what should i be expected to pay for a structuraly sound civic?

anything else i should take into consideration?

any info, links, comments, suggestions will be greatly appreciated

Old 09-17-2006, 02:46 PM
Default RE: im new to sport compact

You should look into a coupe from years 92-00. D series motor (for gas savings), D15b7, D16y8 engines, if you want decent performance I'd say go with EX model. unless you are going to put a turbo in I/H/E is pretty much the concensus on first mods. for a 92-95 max 4k for 96-00 depending on year and milage maybe 6-8k max. If you can find out how well the car was taken car of by previous owner.

Old 09-17-2006, 02:59 PM
HCF Member