General Civic Talk Talk about the Honda Civic generally here.

just bought my first honda

Old 04-18-2008, 10:56 AM
Default just bought my first honda

i posted this in the introductions section and then realized i wasn't supposed to post technical questions there:

hey guys, i just bought a 99 civic ex coupe, 5speed. its a great little car and gets excellent gas mileage. i have a mustang as my performance car and i just bought the civic so i could garage my mustang (its a 95 and only has 40k miles on it). anyways, i had two questions:
1) the car has 135k miles on it. i can tell it was well taken care of. the timing belt has been changed and everything appears to work properly. is there any other preventative maintenance i should do now, considering the age of the vehicle? everything appears to be in good condition, i'm just new to hondas.
2) are there any 'free mods' or relatively cheap performance mods i can do to increase the power without sacrificing fuel economy? i don't want to do anything that will make the car sound ricey. for instance, i was wondering if i could advance the ignitiontiming at all and still use 87octane? and how could i advance the timing?

thanks

Old 04-18-2008, 02:53 PM
Default RE: just bought my first honda

i thought there would be more people on this site...

i just found out that the car has a traditional distributor. so (in addition to the questions i asked above), anyone know how much timing advance i can run on 87 octane without detonation? car is bone stock.

Old 04-18-2008, 03:08 PM
HCF Member

Theres cheap little upgrades that can increase the performance a little bit, but dont expect too much from it.

Old 04-18-2008, 08:46 PM
HCF Member

$300 magnaflow exhaust
$200-$300 4-2-1 header
$5 decals that give 10hp+
$100-$200 lighter flywheel
$100 short air intake
lowering the car increases handling and top speed, not that you'll ever be driving that fast.....I don't know.

get a better intake manifold, maybe another $300?
ported head