Header, Intake, & Exhaust Custom Exhaust? New Headers? Need Opinions on Intakes? Discuss making your ride breathe better here.

Airbox?

  #1  
Old 12-13-2006, 06:30 AM
HCF Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location:
Posts: 60
Default Airbox?

Can anyone tell me what purpose the airbox serves that mounts the end of your intake hose in the front compartment of the engine..?
It has two tubes coming off of the intake hose entering a huge empty plastic box that I'm just dying to remove. Does it help to circulate air before getting to the filter, possibly for catching bigger debris? I'm kinda confused... all manuals only refer to changing the air filter in the airbox but I can't find anything regarding this piece. Any help would be appreciated...

Thanks.

~Kerok.


99 Civic Hatchback CX
 
  #2  
Old 12-13-2006, 07:52 AM
HCF Member
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location:
Posts: 780
Default RE: Airbox?

Yeah I'm wondering about this too. Haha
 
  #3  
Old 12-13-2006, 10:47 AM
StifflersMom's Avatar
Cat Fuсker
Join Date: Nov 1978
Location: The Moon
Posts: 6,804
Default RE: Airbox?

It's there to decrease noise basically...removal of it really doesn't hurt.
 
  #4  
Old 12-13-2006, 11:15 AM
HCF Member
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location:
Posts: 4,371
Default RE: Airbox?

keep it unless you get a short ram intake or cold ram intake.

it's there to help quieten the noise your OEM intake makes while accelerating. it also helps filter out a lot of the dust floating around under your hood.

your OEM filter may not be able to handle all that dust being sucked directly into the intake and get clogged pretty fast.

 
  #5  
Old 12-13-2006, 11:34 AM
StifflersMom's Avatar
Cat Fuсker
Join Date: Nov 1978
Location: The Moon
Posts: 6,804
Default RE: Airbox?

Dust? What dust? Last time I looked my airbox had no dust in it...all it had was a roach
 
  #6  
Old 12-13-2006, 11:46 AM
My04Civic's Avatar
Administrator
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 4,161
Default RE: Airbox?

its there to look ****ty and take up room
 
  #7  
Old 12-13-2006, 11:48 AM
StifflersMom's Avatar
Cat Fuсker
Join Date: Nov 1978
Location: The Moon
Posts: 6,804
Default RE: Airbox?


ORIGINAL: My04Civic

its there to look ****ty and take up room

exactly...
 
  #8  
Old 12-13-2006, 11:53 AM
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location:
Posts: 101
Default RE: Airbox?

i guess this time of the year, there ain't that much dust in the air. just make sure you clean it off more than usuall............
 
  #9  
Old 12-13-2006, 12:28 PM
HCF Member
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location:
Posts: 4,371
Default RE: Airbox?


ORIGINAL: Roto

Dust? What dust? Last time I looked my airbox had no dust in it...all it had was a roach

that's because the airbox was doing it's job...
 
  #10  
Old 12-13-2006, 01:48 PM
StifflersMom's Avatar
Cat Fuсker
Join Date: Nov 1978
Location: The Moon
Posts: 6,804
Default RE: Airbox?

If it was there should be dust in it
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: Airbox?


Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.