Header, Intake, & Exhaust Custom Exhaust? New Headers? Need Opinions on Intakes? Discuss making your ride breathe better here.

Rattling sound after Header/Catback install

Search this Thread

Old 09-14-2007, 07:32 PM
HCF Member
Default Rattling sound after Header/Catback install

I installed my header and catback exhaust about 2-3 weeks ago, then took it to Meineke to have them finish what we couldnt get done due to the lack of tools, and I got it back and everything was perfect. About a week ago, this rattling sound occurs every now and then. Definately sounds like metal is rattling against metal somewhere. It's kinda loud but not terribly loud, and it happens randomly. It mostly happens when I'm not moving and if I slowly accelerate from being stopped. What the heck is it?

Also, I started working at a new store 2 weeks ago and I am a pizza delivery driver and everytime I go on a delivery I have to drive over these pretty rough rail road tracks and the whole car shakes... could this have maybe knocked something out of place?

Old 09-14-2007, 07:35 PM
Snail'n Admin
Default RE: Rattling sound after Header/Catback install

After i put my catback on i had to cut at part of the heat shield to get to it. after i had it on for a while, the heat shield started rattling on the bottome of the car and you could hear it. I just cut the rest of it off and everythings been fine since

Old 09-14-2007, 07:42 PM
HCF Member

alright I'll check that out, any clue how I could tell if its for sure coming from that?

By the way the exhaust is Apexi WS2, and header is Megan Racing

Old 09-14-2007, 07:55 PM

check all the bolts to make sure their on snug. most likely just rubbing agenst the heat shield tho.

Old 09-15-2007, 09:46 AM