Mechanical Problems & Technical Chat If you've got a problem you just can't figure out, a noise you can't diagnose, or a check engine light that won't go away, ask about it here!

Electrical short

Search this Thread

Old 02-28-2010, 05:23 PM
Angry Electrical short

I have a 1996 2 door EX. Last fall my alternator overcharged my battery and caused my car to have an electrical problem. Before this all happened my cruise control had stopped working and then started to work again after the problem started. Also after the problem, my power locks and moon roof stopped working. The associated fuse under the hood blows every time one is put in. The speedometer stopped working and a radiator fan will constantly run unless disconnected. Is there an easy solution to this other than replacing wiring harnesses? I am a college student and don't have a lot of money to spend and would like to try to fix this my self. Any suggestions would be helpful. Thanks.

Old 02-28-2010, 05:34 PM
Recognized HCF Member

Originally Posted by MRDMV8686
The associated fuse under the hood blows every time one is put in.
What specific hood fuse blows?

Name:  picture_3681.jpg
Views: 5287
Size:  71.4 KB

Is 7.5A fuse #15 in the dash fuse box also blown? If so, click the fuse 15 TSB link in my signature.

Name:  picture_3573.jpg
Views: 4657
Size:  68.8 KB

Old 02-28-2010, 05:37 PM

Argh, I hate electrical problems.

Has the alternator been replaced? If so, it's possible you have damage to the wiring harness. It's also possible that there's just a short somewhere and it could be an easy fix.

Start by going to www.hondatech.info and look for the service manual for your Civic. It'll say 96-00. There are tons of wiring diagrams that will be useful in troubleshooting these problems. I'm sure other members will check in soon as well.

^See? RonJ beats me all the time. And his posts are generally more useful.

Old 02-28-2010, 08:22 PM

@ RonJ...under the hood fuse box it is number 51 (20A) that blows.