Mechanical Problems & Technical Chat If you've got a problem you just can't figure out, a noise you can't diagnose, or a check engine light that won't go away, ask about it here!

front control arm bushings have movement

Search this Thread

Old 07-20-2006, 12:35 PM
Default front control arm bushings have movement

Let me just preface this by saying I'm a complete n00b on the forum and if this thread belongs elsewhere, please don't hesitate to move it. I'm also completely new to cars, although a bit of research has at least let me kind of figure out what a control arm bushing is.

My husband and I took a 2002 Civic LX sedan (automatic) we were thinking of buying to a mechanic after we noticed a clicking noise coming from the driver's front side during hard turns/cornering. The mechanic said the front control arm bushings "have movement in them", and said it wasn't an issue -- yet. They said we could still drive it just fine ("we only put it on the inspection because we have to cover our butts") and we wouldn't have to worry about replacing them until this winter. They quoted me Cdn$350 labour plus parts (around another $100) to fix the problem. Although the noise was only coming from the front driver's side, the garage said we'd have to replace both sides on the front.

Is what they told me true? How do I know when it's stopped being an irritating clicking sound and has become a serious issue? Is it at all possible to do this yourself if you know what you're doing (which we don't) and have the proper equipment (which we definitely don't)?

Old 07-20-2006, 06:09 PM
gwl
HCF Member
Default RE: front control arm bushings have movement

It can be your cv joints are going bad.

Old 07-20-2006, 06:56 PM

It can be your cv joints are going bad.
A phone call to my mother-in-law's regular mechanic revealed the same opinion.