Mechanical Problems & Technical Chat If you've got a problem you just can't figure out, a noise you can't diagnose, or a check engine light that won't go away, ask about it here!

Replaced starter today OIL EVERYWHERE

Search this Thread

Old 02-23-2018, 03:39 PM
Default Replaced starter today OIL EVERYWHERE

Hey guys I drive a 1993 civic dx automatic 1.5 L I replaced my starter today, started the car to make sure it worked (obviously) reved the car (not high and for a second or less) and oil went EVERYWHERE it was coming from under the car, shot all over everything. I’m no mechanic but that is not good. Any ideas? Suggestions? Could the starter replacement be related at all? Open for any ideas or suggestions. Also the car is fully stock as well it’s in great shape and has been taken care of. Thanks for any feedback

Old 02-24-2018, 06:47 AM

Starter replacement would have nothing to do with this unless you removed something in order to access the starter and never put it back on. Something else is going on with the car if I had to guess. Clean it up and try to find the source of the leak. If it's as bad as you say, the leak should be relatively easy to find.

Old 02-24-2018, 12:51 PM
Default Can anyone tell

Old 02-24-2018, 12:52 PM

^^^^^ turns out it wasn’t oil going everywhere it was transmission fluid. The culprit is the photo above so Can anyone tell me what this is called? It has a hole in it so it needs to be replaced but I’m not sure the proper name of it to order it. Thanks

Last edited by Eastcoastoverdose; 02-24-2018 at 01:15 PM.
Old 02-24-2018, 02:35 PM