Mechanical Problems & Technical Chat If you've got a problem you just can't figure out, a noise you can't diagnose, or a check engine light that won't go away, ask about it here!

sudden drop in gas mileage

Search this Thread

Old 04-17-2009, 01:03 PM
Default sudden drop in gas mileage

I drive a 1993 Civic LX with 117k miles. I usually go around 300 miles on a tank, but about a month ago that suddenly dropped to more like 250. I haven't changed my driving habits or the fuel grade, the CEL hasn't come on, and the only work that's been done on the car recently was an oil change around the same time as the mileage drop, though I imagine that's just coincidental.

I had a full tune-up last August and have had no other problems since. My regular mechanic said to ask a dealer, but I'm a student and would rather not pay for a dealer's diagnosis if I can avoid it (or I'd at least like to have some idea of what to expect if I do). I'm not so concerned about the decreased fuel economy--I'd expect that as the car gets older--as I am about the possibility that the sudden onset is indicative of a bigger problem.

Any ideas?

Old 04-17-2009, 01:05 PM

Is your CEL (check engine light) on? Does the light turn on then off when you start the car?

Old 04-17-2009, 01:23 PM
Recognized HCF Member

Have your mechanic check the spark timing. If it is way off it could indicate a worn timing belt, eventual failure of the belt is likely to cause sudden severe engine damage. How old is your timing belt, both in years and in miles?

Old 04-17-2009, 03:34 PM

itinerant: Nope, the CEL does not turn on at all.

mk378: The timing belt was replaced at about 85k--30k miles and 4 years ago.

Old 04-17-2009, 06:23 PM
HCF Member

Originally Posted by kfish
itinerant: Nope, the CEL does not turn on at all.