Mechanical Problems & Technical Chat If you've got a problem you just can't figure out, a noise you can't diagnose, or a check engine light that won't go away, ask about it here!

timeing belt

Search this Thread

Old 06-16-2011, 10:24 PM
Default timeing belt

hi all im sorry about the last post im new to this .but i got a 88 honad civic a chick had it and thetimming belt brack on her would ther or could ther be much damger . could i get a new belt ,redo the timeing and put it on and be sweet . ask be case i was told it would have a safty head on it for that resion is this true cheers

Old 06-17-2011, 11:41 AM
HCF Member

You should be fine as far as damaging your Civic's engine is concerned. Your Civic has non-interference cylinder heads, meaning that if the timing belt snaps or breaks, the piston face does not make contact with the valves. Most (gasoline) OHC and newer engines have this design. With that said, I would go ahead and replace the timing belt.

There's a good series of youtube video tutorials on changing a Civic timing belt here: YouTube - ‪How to: Replace a timing belt and water pump - part 1‬‏

Good luck with your repairs man!

Old 06-17-2011, 11:47 AM
HCF Member

Wait a minute. I thought Civics DID have interference engines???

I know the EG series and newer models use interference designs.

Not so sure about the EFs and older.

If the timing belt did break and you do have an interference engine, then get ready to join me in the PO' house...lol.

Old 06-17-2011, 12:02 PM
Recognized HCF Member

It is an interference engine; it should have a D15B2 which is just like all the other D-series engines. There is usually, but not always, internal damage if the timing belt breaks. There are two ways to tell if the valves are damaged. A cylinder leakdown test could be done to see if the valves still seal, or you can just put a new belt on and see what happens.