Vtec solenoid blocked off.....??? - Page 2 - HondaCivicForum.com

Mechanical Problems & Technical Chat If you've got a problem you just can't figure out, a noise you can't diagnose, or a check engine light that won't go away, ask about it here!

Vtec solenoid blocked off.....???

Reply

 
 
 
  #11  
Old 07-03-2011, 04:10 AM
Recognized HCF Member
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 10,023
Default

That looks like the place that JDM and maybe some USDM heads have to to mount a mechanical fuel pump. It's not for a VTEC solenoid. If you were to take the plate off you'll not find oil passages under pressure, it's a hole for the lever on the fuel pump to go in and touch a lobe on the cam. Spark plug holes on the intake side means you have a non-VTEC head.
 

Last edited by mk378; 07-03-2011 at 04:13 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 07-03-2011, 09:24 AM
HCF Member
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Sparks Nv.
Posts: 1,224
Default

Oh i once thought it was for carbed motors or something lol.
My d15b7 also has that. I got it from a place where they sell engines imported from japan.
 
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 07-04-2011, 12:57 PM
Junior Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 7
Default

Ahhh ok thats makes alot of sense. I believe my car originally came with a vtec engine(thats why i have the plug on my wiring harness) and when the engine was rebuilt, they used an engine and or head from an early model CRX which was carburated and had the mechanical fuel pump on the head. So can i just put a vtec head on it and have a vtec?
 
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 07-04-2011, 01:04 PM
Recognized HCF Member
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 10,023
Default

Yes you can swap the head plug in the solenoid and have VTEC. Distributor may not fit though, may need to change to the VTEC type because of a different mounting pattern.
 
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 07-04-2011, 06:08 PM
Junior Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 7
Default

ok well maybe ill try that. any suggestions on a specific head to get? I might end up putting one of those turbo kits on it later on and running around 9psi or so and keeping the factory internals. the engine has around 20k miles on it. I was thinking about doing a b18 swap but for half the price i can turbo it and get the same HP.
 
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 10-09-2013, 07:41 PM
Junior Member
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 1
Default

I got the same problem with my car. I just bought a d15b for my car and put it in. I had a d15b7 and I have a block off plate on mine and now its throwing a CEL. Also I'm having a hard time shifting, like its really hard to put it in gear and I have hardly any brakes at all. Any suggestions?
 
Reply With Quote
Reply
 
 
 
Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
paintballer1184
Mechanical Problems & Technical Chat
2
04-13-2014 06:02 AM
4bangersurprize
Mechanical Problems & Technical Chat
5
02-15-2010 05:59 PM
marquez0721
ECU Tuning & Fuel Management
1
09-19-2008 07:19 PM
Remmy
Pics and Videos
4
05-22-2005 01:04 PM


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Advertising
Featured Sponsors