Mechanical Problems & Technical Chat If you've got a problem you just can't figure out, a noise you can't diagnose, or a check engine light that won't go away, ask about it here!

Weird engine/battery/sensor/all together problem

Search this Thread

Old 12-07-2007, 05:10 PM
Default Weird engine/battery/sensor/all together problem

At the beginning I want to say i know almost nothing about cars - I am a computer technician.

My car - 2005 Civic DX 1.7L 70 000 miles on it. - never really had problems before

3 days ago i started my car, drove about .5 mile, suddenly heard noise (like some rock hit my car from the bottom) than i got the battery light on. Idecided that i have to go to my mechanic so i begun driving there and 5 miles later on a stop light my car started having rough idle and battery light turendoff, and check engine light turned on. My mechanic said that this could be because the alternator belt was kind ofloose, and than he fixed it by replacing a bolt or something(he didn't even charge me for it). Than he realized that my battery died and is bad (2,5 year old battery in arizonaweather could break easily) so i got a new battery.

After that the problem continues:

Every timeI start my carI have a battery light on, and rough idle. For the next one minute check engine light is comming on and off (during that time you can hear relay behind my glove box switching on and off). After a minute battery light turnes off, check engine light turns on. Engine doesn't have rough idle any more, but has no power and doesn't want togo to higher rpm's (i can drive it but up to 40-50 mph). AC doesn't work, engine termomether doesn't work, my mechanic's and autozone's check engine light reader cannot get connected to the computer. Exhaust stinks, and car likely burns a lot of fuel. My mechanic gave up on it, and told me to go to the dealership for diagnostics. My friend who works on cars told me it could be the car computer.

What do you think?