Transmission & Differential All trans and diff topics can be found within.

Clutch Install

Search this Thread

Old 01-16-2008, 02:49 PM
Default Clutch Install

So im in the middle of pulling my transmission, to replace my clutch. This is the first time that i have ever done this, and yes i have read up on it. I know i should have bought a manual but im low on money. I was wondering if someone could please tell me what the linkage? is that is next to the shift linkage. Also how is it removed. Thanks for the help sorry i am a noob

It's a 1991 Hatchback Dx

Old 01-17-2008, 05:53 AM
Default RE: Clutch Install

well theres 2 parts to it if its a rod type.

there's an immovable rod that has a 10mm bolt onthe trans casing and theres one that moves (which selects the gears) it has a pin that you have to use a punch and a hammer to push it out. then they will come right off. on the second rod there might be a metal retainer clip and a little rubber boot on there that comes off easily

Old 01-17-2008, 08:55 AM

Allright thanks man... Im going to go out in a little bit and check it out. Also has anyone used the Exedy Oem replacment clutch? I think thats what im going with since it's pretty cheap on ebay.

Old 01-17-2008, 10:49 AM

a friend of mine has one in his car.. ive driven his car... it drives fine and isnt hard to drive. i've also driven the stage 2 from exedy and i loved that clutch personally. i've also drivin an ACT 6 puck solid with an extreme Press. plate and liked that also..

Old 01-17-2008, 11:08 AM
Recognized HCF Member

exedy oem clutch works great for me in my 94 civic. tho cant help ya with the 91civic never done one before...
BUT remeber its not to late to go buy a manual for the car if you like doing any work its well worth the money for the book!

Old 01-22-2008, 08:17 AM

manual=$20, you bought the car, its worth every cent to put it together correctly. I've gone without a manual with bad results!

Old 01-22-2008, 10:55 AM