Engine & Internal Chat about beefing up your engine's insides here.

B18 TB onto D16?? (Not working. Need help)

  #1  
Old 05-24-2006, 07:40 AM
HCF Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location:
Posts: 74
Default B18 TB onto D16?? (Not working. Need help)

I don't recall where I heard this, but I remember hearing that a TB from a B18 will fit onto a D16. Can anyone verify this for me? Is this possible, and if so, is it simply plug-and-play or are any modifications required? Thanks.


PS. I have a D16Y8

Curlybandit
 
  #2  
Old 05-24-2006, 07:45 AM
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location:
Posts: 178
Default RE: B18 TB onto D16??

Yep it will work. look at the prelude TB it is bigger than a B18.
 
  #3  
Old 05-24-2006, 01:23 PM
riceburner700's Avatar
Recognized HCF Member
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Loveland CO
Posts: 6,629
Default RE: B18 TB onto D16??

yes it will fit
 
  #4  
Old 05-24-2006, 01:30 PM
HCF Member
Join Date: May 2005
Location:
Posts: 3,313
Default RE: B18 TB onto D16??

Plug and play. The Prelude one is the same size as the Integra and will also work; they are both 60mm which is 4mm over a stock D16.

Here is a Prelude TB on a z6 mani. For some reason I had it turned 90*, but you get the idea.


This is what a 60mm TB looks like on the stock IM. You will want to port match the mani.
 
  #5  
Old 05-24-2006, 07:57 PM
Senior Member
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location:
Posts: 3,095
Default RE: B18 TB onto D16??

Hey Sniper, just noticed the sig.

About the TB, if you're gonna go turbo, me and Levi (97civicturbo) found out that the missing link won't bolt to the H22 TB. Just a heads up.
 
  #6  
Old 05-24-2006, 11:53 PM
HCF Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location:
Posts: 74
Default RE: B18 TB onto D16??

Will the missing link bolt onto the B18 TB??
 
  #7  
Old 07-09-2006, 10:05 AM
HCF Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location:
Posts: 74
Default RE: B18 TB onto D16??

Ok... Yesterday I tried installing the B18 TB onto the D16 intake manifold. I looked like it fit on perfectily. All the lines matched up, and I only had one vacuum line to block off. I plugged everything in, and as soon as I turned it on, there was a HUGE vacuum leak. The car would rev up to 3000 rpm, then drop to 1000, then go up and down at idle. I thought maybe it was the TB gasket, but when I took the TB off and compared it to the D16 TB, I saw where the problem was. They DON'T match up. The back end of the B18 TB is larger than the D16, and has ports that aren't covered by the TB gasket. It was more than just a vacuum leak, there was air getting in all around.

Am I missing something here? Is there some sort of adapter I need to get this to work? Are you guys SURE that it's plug and play, because it's not working for me.

Thanks.
 
Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
gunaa
General Civic Talk
1
10-22-2009 11:36 AM
muuurph
Mechanical Problems & Technical Chat
8
11-04-2008 01:46 PM
topsecretusa
PRIVATE For Sale / Trade Classifieds
0
03-23-2007 10:57 AM
waSAABee
Transmission & Differential
5
03-04-2007 08:34 PM
chrisroug
Mechanical Problems & Technical Chat
2
10-02-2006 11:36 AM


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: B18 TB onto D16?? (Not working. Need help)


Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.