Engine & Internal Chat about beefing up your engine's insides here.

making d17a1 vtech???

  #1  
Old 11-19-2007, 01:16 PM
Junior Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 4
Default making d17a1 vtech???

can the engine be made v tech if you use 03 si engine parts on the lx engine?
 
  #2  
Old 11-19-2007, 01:17 PM
Junior Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 4
Default RE: making d17a1 ****???

v tec lol
 
  #3  
Old 11-19-2007, 05:32 PM
reaper2022's Avatar
Super Cereal Admin
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Lexington, KY
Posts: 7,081
Default RE: making d17a1 ****???

Thanks for correcting that

anyway, EP3's (01-05 si hatches) have k20 motors, so none of the engine parts will fit your d17 (well, the oil filter might [8D] ). I think for a mini-me swap (swapping the engine head to convert to vtec) on a d17, you'd have to use a d16z6 or d16y8 head (along with various other parts). I'd say use the search function on here, and you'll probably find a wealth of information.
 
  #4  
Old 11-19-2007, 08:49 PM
HCF Member
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location:
Posts: 724
Default RE: making d17a1 ****???

from canada? cuz in canada the EX is the Si and the Si is the SiR. its dumb how thye do that haha they should keep it the same for ease of communication!
 
  #5  
Old 11-19-2007, 10:42 PM
Junior Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 4
Default RE: making d17a1 ****???

would A K20 fit in my car
 
  #6  
Old 11-21-2007, 01:02 PM
reaper2022's Avatar
Super Cereal Admin
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Lexington, KY
Posts: 7,081
Default RE: making d17a1 ****???

yeah, but they're extremely expensive...
http://www.hmotorsonline.com/shop/sc...amp;item=30015
 
  #7  
Old 11-23-2007, 11:43 AM
Junior Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 4
Default RE: making d17a1 ****???

i cant find ex anywhere on craigslist does it exist. does it have the k20a3 in it
 
  #8  
Old 11-23-2007, 11:49 AM
HCF Member
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 504
Default RE: making d17a1 ****???

EX exists bro. its the D17A2, the DX AND LX have the D17A1

The USDM SI (01-05) have the K20A3 (160 hp), and the 06-08 SI have 197hp have the K20Z3.
 
  #9  
Old 11-23-2007, 12:57 PM
HCF Member
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Cornwall, PEI.
Posts: 10,485
Default RE: making d17a1 ****???


ORIGINAL: jason_hann53

from canada? cuz in canada the EX is the Si and the Si is the SiR. its dumb how thye do that haha they should keep it the same for ease of communication!
The funny thing is that everyone thinks that Canada has it messed up, but in fact it's the US, in Japan and Europe as well as other locations don't have the EX model, but an Si and SiR model[8D]
 
Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
lira_3689
HCF Suggestion / Forum Help Center
2
02-01-2015 04:08 PM
StonedCold
Mechanical Problems & Technical Chat
2
10-31-2011 08:26 AM
guate2006
Engine & Internal
3
12-17-2008 02:17 PM
baker
Engine & Internal
12
09-18-2007 01:24 PM
ballinboy1020
General Civic Talk
6
11-21-2006 11:45 PM


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: making d17a1 vtech???


Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.