Engine & Internal Chat about beefing up your engine's insides here.

motor swap / wont start. help plz

  #1  
Old 07-10-2008, 02:07 PM
didder's Avatar
HCF Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Shafer, MN
Posts: 567
Default motor swap / wont start. help plz

the engine:
completely built d16y8 block with a z6 head sittin on top with a skunk2 stage 1 cam, and fully machined, lots of turbo goodies t3/t04e turbo etc, hondata s300 basemap.

had it installed for over a month now and i can not get the beast to start, first it was the obd2-obd1 harness for distributor, then i was not getting enough spark so i bought a new distributor (old one was REALLY old), bought a nology ignition coil as well.

now i still cant get it to start, it turns over completely normal so my cam degrees arent off, my timings off for sure but ive played with it up and down and i would have found it eventually.

what happens:
when i crank it over everything sounds good, it starts every time! but its really rough (due to timing im sure) and it only stays on for 1 1/2 - 2 seconds. i just ordered a new tps sensor because the i had to grind off the bolts off my old one to remove itand im sure i damaged the sensors internals in the process...

could the tps sensor be causing my car to not stop? oh its getting spark, fuel, no vac leaks i can see, etc... any help????


thanks guys

-didder
 
  #2  
Old 07-10-2008, 02:35 PM
RonJ's Avatar
Recognized HCF Member
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 9,453
Default RE: motor swap / wont start. help plz

It sounds like the timing belt may not be perfectly synchronizing the cam and crank at TDC. Carefully double check your timing belt installation.
 
  #3  
Old 07-10-2008, 10:30 PM
didder's Avatar
HCF Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Shafer, MN
Posts: 567
Default RE: motor swap / wont start. help plz

oh i think i got it, its either a really easy fix or im doomed lol

im running my stock map sensor right now (havent installed my 2.5bar yet), and my basemap it for a 2.5 bar motorola map sensor... would this cause my entire car to not want to stay going because of insufficient readings from the map causing my car to recieve to little or to much fuel and or just plain making it hit a safetly shut off because the readings are so abnormal?


 
  #4  
Old 07-10-2008, 10:44 PM
RonJ's Avatar
Recognized HCF Member
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 9,453
Default RE: motor swap / wont start. help plz

Is the CEL ON and throwing a MAP sensor trouble code?

A faulty MAP sensor could cause big problems like the one your having.
 
Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
Delray_Pete
Mechanical Problems & Technical Chat
3
03-24-2013 03:59 PM
ronda the honda
Mechanical Problems & Technical Chat
8
04-09-2011 03:01 AM
skibum853
Mechanical Problems & Technical Chat
4
09-28-2007 04:36 PM
antojl
Mechanical Problems & Technical Chat
2
05-29-2006 11:47 AM


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: motor swap / wont start. help plz


Advertising
Featured Sponsors

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.