Engine & Internal Chat about beefing up your engine's insides here.

Questions about Head Gaskets; Rebuilt engines???Already Searched.

Search this Thread

Old 04-21-2006, 11:41 PM
Default Questions about Head Gaskets; Rebuilt engines???Already Searched.

Hello to all!!!!!!!

I am a newbie to the automotive mechanic world and I am trying my hardest to learn about various parts of the Honda. I have an older 1989 Civic that I am using to help teach me things (I'm trying to do all the maintenance myself on it). Anyways here are my question....

With a blown head gasket do all you have to do is remove the valve cover, remove the cylinder head and that's it? Remove the old gasket and replace? That seems too easy. I had an older 1989 Buick Skylark that had a head gasket blow 5 years ago (i was 16 then) and we sent it to an automotive shop that charged us an arm and a leg to do this.

It was the head gasket because oil mixed with coolant; is that a common symptom?

Also,

when you replace the head gasket is there any special things you have to do?
things I have heard so far...
-Remove old gasket and polish heads??? not sure what this is.
-flush oil out to rid of coolant and other contaminants? what is the process; just an oil change?
-change o-rings, ? isn't this considered doing somewhat of a engine rebuild?

rebuilt engine questions...

I downloaded a service manual and saw this stuff in there regarding removing the engine. It does not seem that hard to rebuild the engine if you choose to do it yourself other than time and properly torqueing everything. Why is this seem to easy? Can someone knock reality into me!!

Old 04-21-2006, 11:57 PM
HCF Member
Default RE: Questions about Head Gaskets; Rebuilt engines???Already Searched.