Engine & Internal Chat about beefing up your engine's insides here.

VTEC NOT WORKING

  #1  
Old 09-21-2007, 04:01 AM
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: norwich
Posts: 17
Default VTEC NOT WORKING

Basically ive just had a b18c4 (it does exist)bottom end and b16a top end engine conversion and the vtec dosn't kick in.

The speedo isn't working which seems to be the sensor and not any thing else ( i went through a ford and my engine hyrolocked thus new engine)

Am i right to assume that because the ecu isn't technically getting a speed reading it thinks its stationary and the vtec won't engage, just like sitting there reving the engine wont engage the vtec.

I've read this before and just wanted to check.

I beleive the vtec is wired up ok aswell.
 
  #2  
Old 09-21-2007, 04:25 AM
Forty04's Avatar
Laced with Sarcasm
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 15,279
Default RE: VTEC NOT WORKING

VSS - Vehicle Speed Sensor
 
  #3  
Old 09-21-2007, 08:02 AM
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location:
Posts: 35
Default RE: VTEC NOT WORKING

It's your number 15 fuse, runs the speedo and your vtec runs off your speedo (weird I know). If you replace the fuse it all shall work, but beware it will blow again. Like Forty04said, VSS - Vehicle Speed Sensor!!
 
  #4  
Old 09-24-2007, 07:16 AM
amg6975's Avatar
HCF Member
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Rochester, NY
Posts: 2,821
Default RE: VTEC NOT WORKING

Wait, VTEC shouldn't run off vehicle speed should it? Wouldn't it be the tach signal?
 
  #5  
Old 09-24-2007, 07:25 AM
Forty04's Avatar
Laced with Sarcasm
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 15,279
Default RE: VTEC NOT WORKING

ORIGINAL: amg6975

Wait, VTEC shouldn't run off vehicle speed should it? Wouldn't it be the tach signal?
If the VSS doesn't work, neither do the speedo or vtec
 
  #6  
Old 09-24-2007, 08:21 PM
amg6975's Avatar
HCF Member
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Rochester, NY
Posts: 2,821
Default RE: VTEC NOT WORKING

Hm, I'll take your word for it.
 
  #7  
Old 09-24-2007, 08:27 PM
riceburner700's Avatar
Recognized HCF Member
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Loveland CO
Posts: 6,629
Default RE: VTEC NOT WORKING

low oil has caused vtec to not work before
 
Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
gunaa
General Civic Talk
1
10-22-2009 11:36 AM
chrisroug
Mechanical Problems & Technical Chat
2
10-02-2006 11:36 AM
BlueEX
Mechanical Problems & Technical Chat
0
06-29-2006 10:02 PM
VTECivic95
Mechanical Problems & Technical Chat
5
06-18-2006 03:11 PM
VTECivic95
New Member Introductions
3
06-17-2006 12:37 PM


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: VTEC NOT WORKING


Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.