Header, Intake, & Exhaust Custom Exhaust? New Headers? Need Opinions on Intakes? Discuss making your ride breathe better here.

Can i just remove the sensor/plug the hole?

  #1  
Old 01-31-2007, 08:02 PM
FlipHKD720's Avatar
HCF Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Marquette, MI
Posts: 8,442
Default Can i just remove the sensor/plug the hole?

haha alright, first off i didnt want to say "plug the bung" haha, anyway, with an o2 simulator, this is how you install it:

Notice that after the harness (the o2 snesor itself), it isnt even used becasue the signal wire (the whole purpose of the o2 sensor) is replaced by the o2 simulator. Becasue of this, could you just unplug the harness and pull the o2 snesor out, then plug the bung with a plug that i have? This would elminate wires and simplify things. Can i do this?
 
  #2  
Old 02-02-2007, 06:43 PM
HCF Member
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location:
Posts: 206
Default RE: Can i just remove the sensor/plug the hole?

i have a b18 in my civic and am not running a front o2 sensor. i plugged it up and it runs fine and no engine light or loss of mileage
 
  #3  
Old 02-03-2007, 08:03 PM
FlipHKD720's Avatar
HCF Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Marquette, MI
Posts: 8,442
Default RE: Can i just remove the sensor/plug the hole?

ORIGINAL: heymikey19

i have a b18 in my civic and am not running a front o2 sensor. i plugged it up and it runs fine and no engine light or loss of mileage
alright cool. I didnt think you'd lose milage, but do you have an aftermarket header and/or catalytic converter? And do you hvae an o2 simulator as well?

And i guess if somebody can't answer my first question (about removing the sensor totally), can anyone tell me what the 4th wire is in that diagram? From left to right it goes Signal, Ground, 12V, and ???. I'm thinking thats the heater wire to make the o2 sesnor last longer, am i correct?
 
  #4  
Old 02-03-2007, 08:32 PM
HCF Member
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Attleboro MA
Posts: 552
Default RE: Can i just remove the sensor/plug the hole?

im not possitive, but it might be a heater, u would ahve to ask some one else to be sure
 
  #5  
Old 02-04-2007, 07:11 PM
HCF Member
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location:
Posts: 206
Default RE: Can i just remove the sensor/plug the hole?

i have pace setter headers and a high flow resonator instead of a cat. and i just put a bolt in the hole.
 
  #6  
Old 02-04-2007, 08:28 PM
FlipHKD720's Avatar
HCF Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Marquette, MI
Posts: 8,442
Default RE: Can i just remove the sensor/plug the hole?

ORIGINAL: heymikey19

i have pace setter headers and a high flow resonator instead of a cat. and i just put a bolt in the hole.

yeai have the plug for mine too, do you have an o2 simulator? Itd be surprising if you didnt get a CEL and a you didnt have an o2 simulator.
 
  #7  
Old 02-04-2007, 08:42 PM
HCF Member
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location:
Posts: 206
Default RE: Can i just remove the sensor/plug the hole?

i dont know what a o2 simulator is i only have a bolt in the front one and i can garuntee no cel is on in my car iv had it that way 4 awhile
 
  #8  
Old 02-05-2007, 07:51 AM
FlipHKD720's Avatar
HCF Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Marquette, MI
Posts: 8,442
Default RE: Can i just remove the sensor/plug the hole?


so i think i answered my own question ^ found that on anotehr site, but this one (unlike the first diagram) doesnt show if you splice the wires between teh harness and sensor, or the harness and the ECU. The first one shows between the harness and the ECU, anyone know if this is correct?
 
  #9  
Old 02-05-2007, 01:03 PM
HCF Member
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Attleboro MA
Posts: 552
Default RE: Can i just remove the sensor/plug the hole?

it shouldnt matter, the whole thing with putting it between the harness and the sensor would be it is going to be close to the exaust
 
  #10  
Old 02-05-2007, 09:25 PM
FlipHKD720's Avatar
HCF Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Marquette, MI
Posts: 8,442
Default RE: Can i just remove the sensor/plug the hole?

true true, although the harness is in the engine bay, which means i could splice in between the sensor and the harness just a few inches from the harness (just which side?) Your right though, it shouldnt matter.
 
Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
aztecaa
Suspension, Brakes, Tires & Wheels
5
11-27-2011 08:06 AM
RP Sinisterx
EK Swaps
18
08-06-2009 08:50 AM
sbg20307
Transmission & Differential
5
11-05-2008 10:19 AM
wehrd1
Mechanical Problems & Technical Chat
5
04-18-2007 04:41 PM
bladerunner627
Mechanical Problems & Technical Chat
2
05-18-2006 03:17 PM


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: Can i just remove the sensor/plug the hole?


Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.