Suspension, Brakes, Tires & Wheels Talk about your suspension, tires, wheels and brakes within.

Apex'i EXv Coilovers

Search this Thread

Old 01-19-2010, 03:36 PM
Default Apex'i EXv Coilovers

I just bought and installed a set of Apex'i EXv coilovers on my 98 Civic and have a couple of questions someone might be able to answer.

First question concerns the dampening settings. The coilovers have 32 differnet settings and I am wondering what the best set up is for the front and back if I am just a regular street driver.

The second question I have concerns the sring preload. If I am just driving on the street, what should I have the preload set at? There are no markings on the coilovers themselves to determine what they are set at, so shoudl the spring be tight on the purch or snug so I can move it with my hand?

Thank you, any information helps

Old 01-20-2010, 07:41 AM

I highly doubt those coilovers really have 32 settings, that's just a selling gimmick. After some dyno testing, there are probably only a dozen settings on them...Just play around with the settings and drive around until you find the setting that feels the most comfortable.

The springs can sit loose on the perch, once the weight of the car sits on the springs they wont be going anywhere. Just adjust the perches to the height you want.

Old 01-20-2010, 08:35 AM

They actually do have 32 settings, i have counted them myself. As far as the spring preload, there is a seperate adjustment for the height and then a seperate adjustment for the spring preload, i have the height where I want it, but as far a the spring load, i'm just wondering for a regular street car should the spring be loose on the purch or tight before i put the weight of the car on it?

Old 01-20-2010, 08:45 AM

yeah there may be 32 adjustments, but there are far less REAL settings you would find if you did a shock dyno test on them...example: 5 twists of a **** would essentially change the setting once...