Suspension, Brakes, Tires & Wheels Talk about your suspension, tires, wheels and brakes within.

Help

Search this Thread

Old 04-05-2009, 01:23 PM
Default Help

I have a 2000 Honda Civic EX. I am looking to upgrade my suspension, have been looking at struts and sway bars. Do lower control arms (rear) have much impact without additional improvements? Total beginner, any help will be appreciated.

Old 04-05-2009, 03:33 PM
Super Cereal Admin

Give me a little time... I just typed up a huge in-depth description of what everything does and what you should look for in an upgrade, then i accidentally clicked away from the page and lost everything so now I have to type it all up again

Old 04-05-2009, 04:39 PM
Super Cereal Admin

Okay, let's try this again... here's a fairly in-depth look at suspension:

Springs:
The generally assumed rule for springs is that the higher the spring rate, the less the car will roll in the turns, and the better it'll handle. Well, the problem with that is public roads are chock full of imperfections. If you have the highest spring rate you can find, if you hit an imperfection at speed, a wheel could potentially lift off the ground. Common sense says that a car's going to travel fastest when all four wheels are on the pavement. The "spring rates high enough to give you kidney damage just thinking about them must be good for handling" idea most likely stems from the fact that in order to avoid bottoming out the suspension, lowering springs have relatively high spring rates. Now, I'm not saying higher spring rates aren't good for handling, but there's a limit to them. Also, the lower the car's center of gravity, the better the car will handle (this is ignoring suspension geometry, but suspension geometry gets very in-depth very fast, so for the sake of simplicity I'm not going to get into that).

Struts: