Transmission & Differential All trans and diff topics can be found within.

Transmission FAQ

Old 12-17-2007, 08:31 PM
Default Transmission FAQ

Certainly time that I write one of these. Things that I'm going to cover in this thread are frequently asked questions and frequently seen problems in our beloved Honda transmissions, but before I do.

If you are considering boosting or highly modifying an engine that is connected to an automatic honda transmission I urge you not to bother. The transmission WILL go, it is not an if or may, it is a will. These transmission barely hold their own power, let alone more! I will not be covering anything more on these. They are a pain in the *** to work on, I hate them, and I will not buy them. Also, because I have no experience with it, I will not be covering auto to manual swaps. We already have good information for that anyway. Now, onto the good stuff.

1. How a transmission works
2. Best stock transmission.
3. Differentials
4. Common problems
5. Clutch/Flywheel

1. How a Transmission Works

A transmission although confusing at first look is very simple. Essentially there are two shafts that hold the gears. The mainshaft and the countershaft. The mainshaft is just that, the main shaft (furthest shaft in picture). It is the shaft that is driven directly by the engine. The countershaft is the 2nd part to each gear and it also makes sure that the differential spins in the correct direction (closer shaft in picture).