ECU Tuning & Fuel Management Discuss electronics and related components within.

OBD2b to OBD2a

  #1  
Old 05-19-2007, 09:43 PM
Junior Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 12
Default OBD2b to OBD2a

Has any one ever converted there obd2b cars to obd2a. I have an obd2a gsr harness in my 99 si and the harness in the car is obd2b. I am using a gsr obd2a computer. I don't want to have to repin the whole ecu plug so did anyone ever did this conversion. Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thank you.
 
  #2  
Old 05-20-2007, 04:17 PM
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location:
Posts: 680
Default RE: OBD2b to OBD2a

its practically the same thing i wouldtn go through the hassle of doing it.. the only conversion i'de do is go to obd1
 
  #3  
Old 05-20-2007, 04:42 PM
FlipHKD720's Avatar
HCF Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Marquette, MI
Posts: 8,442
Default RE: OBD2b to OBD2a

ORIGINAL: MY99SI

its practically the same thing i wouldtn go through the hassle of doing it.. the only conversion i'de do is go to obd1
+1, why do u need to convert?

Ibeleive any OBD1 ECU can be chipped/tuned for any application which is why that conversion is so useful
 
  #4  
Old 05-21-2007, 06:49 PM
Junior Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 12
Default RE: OBD2b to OBD2a

I am not doing this conversion by choice. If I had a choice I would put the correct harness and ecu in the car. The reason why I am doing it is because my car was stolenand this is the only harness I could get with an ecu. I don't really care that the ecu is chipped. Also I dont want to go obd1.
 
  #5  
Old 05-22-2007, 07:33 AM
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location:
Posts: 680
Default RE: OBD2b to OBD2a

im not sure how the harnesses are.. they could be identical or the could be totally different, it would be easy to go to obd1.. a obd2a or b jumper harness into the obd1 ecu.......... and DONE lol thats it
 
  #6  
Old 05-22-2007, 12:57 PM
Junior Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 12
Default RE: OBD2b to OBD2a

I don't want to go obd1 and even if i use the harness I will still have the same problem. In the obd2b the green plug that goes to the car's harness has less wires than the obd2a. There is a difference between the two. I can rewire it but I dont have a honda manual so I can look at the wiring diagram for the 2 ECUs. If somebody could get me acopy of that I could do the conversion and post the correct procedures so the next person that does this conversion ( I don't know why they would want to do that) but they would have the instructions on how to do it. Oh and the only diagram I need is the one of the green plug for both versions.
 
  #7  
Old 06-04-2007, 09:01 AM
Junior Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 12
Default RE: OBD2b to OBD2a

Does anyone have a wiring diagram of the green harness plug that comes right after the ecu plugs? I need the diagram for both obd2 ecus. Btw its the plug that links the harness to the car. Thanks.
 
  #8  
Old 07-04-2007, 09:07 PM
Junior Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 12
Default RE: OBD2b to OBD2a

Well since nobody on this board knows anything about automotive electrical wiring, I might as well solved my problem myself. I thought sombody would atleast done this conversion before but I guess I was the first to actually do an ecu swap without buying a harness conversion. It was fairly easy to do and took me 30 minutes to do. I must be one of the only good techs on this site. Well anyways Im selling harness conversion kits So let me know what you need and I'll see ifI have it orI can make it.
 
  #9  
Old 06-01-2019, 11:13 PM
Junior Member
Join Date: Jun 2019
Posts: 1
Default Obd2b to obd2a

Originally Posted by Tegls1 View Post
Well since nobody on this board knows anything about automotive electrical wiring, I might as well solved my problem myself. I thought sombody would atleast done this conversion before but I guess I was the first to actually do an ecu swap without buying a harness conversion. It was fairly easy to do and took me 30 minutes to do. I must be one of the only good techs on this site. Well anyways Im selling harness conversion kits So let me know what you need and I'll see ifI have it orI can make it.
Can you still do this???? Need an obd2b to obd2a to bypass a faulty immobilizer
 
  #10  
Old 06-02-2019, 05:53 AM
cvcrcr99's Avatar
Moderator
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: DUB Caeser
Posts: 7,178
Default

Originally Posted by CJ Harbin View Post
Can you still do this???? Need an obd2b to obd2a to bypass a faulty immobilizer
Doubt it. He was last on this site a minute after posted that comment. He never returned (at least while signed in)

"Last Activity: 07-05-2007 01:08 AM"
 
Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
dunphyjj
Mechanical Problems & Technical Chat
2
05-08-2019 01:59 PM
EJ8_Man
Mechanical Problems & Technical Chat
8
04-15-2014 11:06 AM
hazo vti
ECU Tuning & Fuel Management
7
07-17-2006 03:43 PM
sillyredcivic
Private 'Wanted' Classifieds
0
05-06-2006 01:28 PM
clevisR6
EG Swaps
17
08-09-2005 08:59 AM


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: OBD2b to OBD2a


Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.