Engine & Internal Chat about beefing up your engine's insides here.

Intake mainfold

Search this Thread

Old 05-31-2008, 01:07 PM
Default Intake mainfold

I have a 96 civic hatch and i'm thinking about purchasing a intake mainfold and installing it but i will also need a new throttle body due to the one that is stock points upwards, my question is how much more horsepower wud bean expected gain. and what is a good intake mainfold and throttle body. I'm a newb that needs direction so feel free tocriticise except the fact that i cant spell criticise

Old 06-02-2008, 10:48 PM
HCF Member
Default RE: Intake mainfold

I think it'll be a waste of money unless you get more work done to the engine. The runners on the intake manifold's are longer on aftermarkets like edelbrock and skunk2. This helps for more power in the higher rpm's, but then you will loose some in the lower....

What do you mean by the stock throttlebody points upward? Getting a larger diameter throttle body wont do anything but loose power. The diameter has to line up with the intake manifold's diameter.

These are usually lasts steps people add to built or boosted engines looking for a little more horspower out of there setups. In which case would be greater after being built for it. Haveing the head (part of the engine where the air enters through the valves, combusted and exits), intake manifold, and throttlebody, ported, polished, and matched all together, Allowing air to flow through uninterupted by bumps and bends.

Old 06-03-2008, 09:46 AM
HCF Member

ORIGINAL: Xirish3x

my question is how much more horsepower wud bean expected gain. and what is a good intake mainfold and throttle body.