Mechanical Problems & Technical Chat If you've got a problem you just can't figure out, a noise you can't diagnose, or a check engine light that won't go away, ask about it here!

3-stage vtec gurus??? help!

Search this Thread

Old 07-01-2008, 10:33 PM
Default 3-stage vtec gurus??? help!

ok i've spent at least 24 hours over the last few days researching this so, though i'm a noob...I'm kinda getting my head wrapped around it a bit.

i swapped a jdm d15b 3-stage vtec into my 96 civic ex. I kept the original y8 manifold. my dilemma is i don't have the ecu(p2j-003), wiring harness, or intake manifold that are meant to go with this engine. i currently have no way to run the 2nd vtec stage due to no wiring to control it. here are my questions in order of importance:

1) what is the best way for me to run that 2nd stage vtec with least amount of wiring work and best engine efficiency? buy p2j ecu or get a vafc controller to run it?
2) if i get the p2j can i just get a conversion harness from the p2p that i have?
3) anything about the y8 IM being on the d15b that may pose a problem for me?
4) any other advice or things about the swap that I should be aware of?

Thanks guys I tried to spend as much time researching this swap as possible as to not create a dozen posts asking dumb questions. so knowledgeable help will be extremely appreciated!

Old 07-02-2008, 08:35 PM
Default RE: 3-stage vtec gurus??? help!

bump....no one???

Old 07-02-2008, 10:48 PM

i can answer your third question.
The Y8 manifold is bigger and has larger runners. It's actually better to use it. There should not be any problems with it.

and isn't the JDM D15B's ECU a P28? Or is your D15B OBD2?

Old 07-02-2008, 10:51 PM